Kambia HDSS run by CHaRT-SL


Kambia District is a district in the Northern Province of Sierra Leone. Its capital and largest city is Kambia. The other major towns include Morebaya, Kasirie, Kamassassa, Kukuna and Mange. As of 2010, The District has a population estimated at 313,765.

Kambia District borders the Republic of Guinea to the north, Port Loko District to the south and Bombali District to the east. The district provides an important Trade route to Freetown and Conakry.

The district occupies a total area of 3,108 km2 (1,200 sq mi) and is divided into 7 Chiefdoms namely, Bramaia, Gbinleh- Dixing, Magbema, Mambolo, Masungbola, Samu and Tonko-Limba. A Paramount Chief and a council of Tribal Authorities govern each of these Chiefdoms.


Sierra Leone's location in West Africa           Sierra Leone showing its districts


            Kambia district                         Recent google map showing Kambia district